College of DuPage Students Nominated for Seven IBA Silver Dome Awards

By: Mike McKissack

IBA Logo

Five segments of Courier TV, the student-run on-campus television broadcast at College of DuPage, as well as two Motion Picture/Television students have been selected as finalists for the 2019 Illinois Broadcast Association Student Silver Dome Awards.

Courier TV, which debuted in spring 2015, covers campus life while providing students with hands-on opportunities to learn about journalism and television production. Students in the “Advanced TV Production” course do everything from on-camera reporting to behind-the-scenes writing, editing and directing.

The Courier TV segments selected as finalists include: “A Chappy Day,” (view here) produced by students Tom Ciszewski, Katie Danylevsky, Will Garippo, Brian Grebner, Aleks Kumor, Dalton Lass, Nate Pleitt, Anisa Selenica, Alex Stockfleth and Abbas Tayebali for Best Radio/TV Promotional or Public Service Campaign; “Courier TV News – Feb. 28, 2019,” (view here) produced by Vircell Dayap, Ian Georgeson, Brian Grebner, Anthony Guerrero, Manny Lopez, Luke Mosz, Nate Pleitt and C.J. Rosenstein for Best TV News Cast; “Chaps Don’t Cheat – Ambulance,” (view here) produced by Garippo, Lopez, Pleitt and Selenica for Best TV Spot; “Glass Blowing,” (view here) produced by Justin Bordenaro and Dante Miceli for Best TV Spot; “K9 Swim and Trim,” (view here) produced by Mike Campos and Vircell Dayap, and “Veteran’s Day – Bernard Coffey,” (view here) produced by Lopez and Pliett for Best TV Photojournalism.

Additional COD student nominees include “Pipe Dreams,” (view trailer here) produced by Mojeri Coker; and “Silver Island,” produced by Amanda Brown for Best TV Longform Entertainment Programming.

This year’s winners will be announced on Friday, Sept. 20.

Watch current and past episodes on YouTube.

Learn more about Courier TV or the Motion Picture/Television program.