Writing, Reading, and Speech Workshops

Do You Want to Improve Your Skills?

Join us at the following 45-minute workshops conducted by part-time faculty in the Learning Commons, SRC 2102. Call (630) 942-3355 for more information and to register. If you are unable to attend video recordings are available for some workshops.

Getting Started in Writing
Wednesday, September 7, 1 p.m.

Participants will learn helpful strategies to overcome writer's block and generate ideas.

Learning Styles and Time Management
Thursday, September 8, 1 p.m.

A brief overview of learning styles, time management principles, and best methods for success.

Fear of Public Speaking
Tuesday, September 13, 1 p.m. or 5 p.m.

Participants will learn the sources of public speaking anxiety and strategies to try to overcome that fear.

Textbook Strategies and Note-Taking
Thursday, September 15, 1 p.m.

Learn strategies to help you comprehend the information in your college textbooks and to take effective notes.

Catchy Attention Getters and Clinchers (for speeches)
Tuesday, September 20, 1 p.m. or 5 p.m.

This workshop focuses on how to hook an audience and finish strong in speeches and presentations.

Memory and Concentration
Thursday, September 22, 1 p.m.

Participants will learn tips and techniques for improving memory and concentration.

Commas: When and Where?
Tuesday, September 27, 1 p.m.

Learn easy strategies to refresh comma skills and incorporate them correctly into your writing.

Test Taking Strategies
Wednesday, September 28, 1 p.m.

Learn strategies to become more effective in preparing for and completing exams.

Creating Effective Visual Aids
Thursday, September 29, 1 p.m. or 5 p.m.

Learn strategies for creating effective, impactful visual aids.

Building a Better Vocabulary
Monday, October 3, 1 p.m.

Students will review the cues of word structure, word forms, common word endings and context clues to develop vocabulary.

Oral Citations
Thursday, October 6, 1 p.m. or 5 p.m.

This workshop focuses on proper oral citations and best practices for avoiding plagiarism in speeches.

Understanding Inferences
Monday, October 10, 1 p.m.

This workshop will demonstrate techniques for making valid inferences in reading material that requires critical thinking.

Writing an Effective Financial Assistance Appeal Letter (SAP)Thursday, October 13, 1 p.m.

Participants will learn how to format and what information to include in each paragraph of an effective Satisfactory Academic Progress (SAP) appeal letter.

Fear of Public Speaking
Wednesday, October 19, 1 p.m. or 5 p.m.

Participants will learn the sources of public speaking anxiety and strategies to try to overcome that fear.

Catchy Attention Getters and Clinchers (for speeches)
Monday, October 24, 1 p.m. or 5 p.m.

This workshop focuses on how to hook an audience and finish strong in speeches and presentations.

Avoiding Plagiarism
Tuesday, October 25, 1 p.m.

Learn strategies to avoid the plagiarism trap when researching and writing an academic essay.

Getting Organized in Writing
Wednesday, October 26, 1 p.m.

Learn techniques to organize ideas and to begin drafting your essay.

Paragraphs - Introductions and Conclusions
Tuesday, November 1, 1 p.m.

Learn strategies for writing effective introductions and conclusions. Learn how to recognize when improvement is needed.

Creating Effective Visual Aids
Wednesday, November 2, 1 p.m. or 5 p.m.

Learn strategies for creating effective, impactful visual aids.

Effective and Ineffective Persuasion
Thursday, November 3, 1 p.m.

Learn to effectively persuade an audience by constructing logical arguments.

Patterns of Organization in Academic Writing
Tuesday, November 8, 1 p.m.

Students review the most common organizational structures used for the major types of writing: expositive, descriptive, narrative, and persuasive.

Revising in Writing
Tuesday, November 15, 1 p.m.

Bring a current essay that you wish to revise and learn specific techniques to polish your essay.

Oral Citations
Wednesday, November 16, 1 p.m. or 5 p.m.

This workshop focuses on proper oral citations and best practices for avoiding plagiarism in speeches.

Editing in Writing
Thursday, November 17, 1 p.m.

Students will discover how to finalize the writing process using proofreading strategies. 

Workshop Videos:

If you can't attend one of our workshops, some of them can be viewed online.

Contact Information


Learning Commons
Student Resource Center (SRC), Room 2102, (630) 942-3941

Mathematics Assistance
(630) 942-3339

Writing, Reading, and Speech Assistance
(630) 942-3355

Tutoring Services
(630) 942-3686