alert
Notice: College of DuPage is closed for Thanksgiving Recess from Thursday, Nov. 27, to Sunday, Nov. 30. The College will reopen on Monday, Dec. 1.

Pre-Dentistry/Pre-Medicine/Pre-Veterinary Information

Career Opportunities

Students preparing to go into dentistry, medicine or veterinary medicine take many of the same entry courses. These suggested courses should aid students in preparing for medical fields, but successful completion of these courses does not ensure entry into professional schools. A student usually must earn a bachelor's degree in any area of interest before being considered by a professional school. Final acceptance by a professional school is based on analysis of previous college work, special entrance examinations and other criteria.

All pre-professional areas in this program guide require two years of chemistry, one year of physics, and one to two years of biology/zoology. A student's mathematics skills should extend through a minimum of Mathematics 1432, Trigonometry. Students should begin the appropriate course sequences as soon as practical.

The professional fields of dentistry, medicine and veterinary medicine are well known for their social, psychological, economic and essential benefits to both patient and practitioner. Entry into professional schools is very competitive; successful entrants will have superior character and excellent performance in courses and admissions tests.


Program Requirements

 

Degree

Faculty Advisors 

If you are considering this program as an area of study, consult with a faculty advisor in this field.

Barbara Anderson
Biology
(630) 942-2347
anderson@cod.edu

Julie Gibbs, Ph.D.
Biology
(630) 942-2262
gibbsj@cod.edu

Nancy Kett
Biology, Anatomy and Physiology
(630) 942-2134
kettna@cod.edu

James Ludden
Biology, Anatomy and Physiology
(630) 942-4073
ludden@cod.edu

Karen Persky
Biology, Microbiology
(630) 942-3932
persky@cod.edu

Chris Petersen, Ph.D.
Biology, Zoology
(630) 942-2517
petersen@cod.edu

Lynda Randa
Biology, Botany
(630) 942-2706
randal@cod.edu

Thomas Ruehlmann, Ph.D.
Biology, Anatomy and Physiology, Zoology
(630) 942-3064
ruehlman@cod.edu

Susan Stamler, Ph.D.
Biology, Microbiology
(630) 942-2348
stamler@cod.edu
 

Contact Information


Health and Sciences Division
Health and Science Center (HSC), Room 1220, (630) 942-8331