College of DuPage Forensics Team Wins Big at State Championship

Forensics Team Icon

By Jen Duda

The College of DuPage Forensics Team took the top prize in the two-year division at the Illinois All State Speech and Debate Tournament, held earlier this month at Illinois Central College.

Debate winners include: Liz Fritz (Naperville) and Rocio Olvera (Elmhurst), and Cem Addemir (Naperville) and Veronica Williams-Hall (Clarendon Hills), first place in Parliamentary Debate; Addemir, sixth place in individual speakers awards; Olvera, fifth place in International Public Debate, and semifinalist in International Public Debate; Umme Mandviwala (Naperville), semifinalist in International Public Debate; Djimon Lewis (Bolingbrook), second place in International Public Debate; Gabrielle Moraru (Bensenville), second place in Open International Public Debate and second place in individual speaker awards.

Individual winners include: Addemir, second place in Impromptu Speaking and fourth place in Informative Speaking; Amy Ayyad (Naperville), third place in Novice Informative Speaking and third place in Novice Speech to Entertain; Katrina Caluza (Aurora) second place in Poetry Interpretation; Max Campbell (Villa Park), sixth place in Speech to Entertain; Jake Cowart (Lombard), first place in Informative Speaking and second place in Communication Analysis; Fritz, second place in Extemporaneous Speaking and sixth place in Impromptu Speaking; Lewis, second place in Program Oral Interpretation and fourth place in Poetry Interpretation; Gavin McDonnell (Naperville), fourth place in Novice Dramatic Interpretation; Olvera, second place in Persuasive Speaking and third place in Communication Analysis; Alexandra Weston (Glen Ellyn), fifth place in Poetry Interpretation; Williams, sixth place in Poetry Interpretation; Olvera, fifth place in Two-Year Individual Speaker.

Overall, the COD team took first place in two-year college sweepstakes.

Traveling with the team were members Kelsey Peters (Glen Ellyn) and Paola Ramos (Chicago), as well as coaches Lauren Morgan, Kacy Stevens, and Brandon Wood. The team was also joined by alumni coaches Carolyn Nivling and Jim Snyder.

For more information about the Forensics Individual Events and Debate teams, contact Forensics Director Lauren Morgan at (630) 942-2007,

(Pictured above: Front row, from left to right: Amy Ayyad, Paola Ramos, Gabrielle Moraru, Rocio Olvera, Kelsey Peters, Cem Addemir, Liz Fritz, and Umme Mandviwala. Back row, from left to right: Veronica Williams-Hall, Jake Cowart, Djimon Lewis, Gavin McDonnell, Max Campbell, Catrina Caluza.)

College of DuPage

425 Fawell Blvd., Glen Ellyn IL, 60137

(630) 942-2800 (Main)

(630) 942-3000 (Student Services)

  2019 College of DuPage