Courier TV at COD Receives Eight Illinois Broadcast Association Silver Dome Awards

Silver Dome Award recipients

By Brian Kleemann

Courier TV at College of DuPage has received eight Illinois Broadcast Association Student Silver Dome Awards, including three first place awards and a sweep of the Best TV Spot category.

“Our program is only three years old, and our students continue to demonstrate determination, ingenuity and a genuine curiosity about the stories that take place on campus every week,” said Jennifer Piehl, Professor of Motion Picture/Television. “Their ability to tell these stories always amazes me, and we’re so proud of their accomplishments.”

In the Best TV Longform Entertainment Programming, first place went to student Matt Miltonberger (Lemont) for producing the “Climate Change” segment (click here to watch). Second place went to the student team producing the December 2016 segment of “Inside COD” (click here to watch): Rob Nardini (Naperville), Alex Bruzek (Glen Ellyn), Matt Elias (Bartlett), Greg DeNuccio (Warrenville), Darbi Torres (Woodridge), Kyle Dearborn (Oswego), Blaine Cummings (Aurora), Dillon Schultz, Tom Hibner (Downers Grove), Ryan Jolly (Carol Stream), Frank Miceli (Addison), Erni Hartini (Glen Ellyn), Chris Finch (Naperville), Jack Traverso (Naperville), Ronnie Mathews (Wheaton) and Auste Kuncas (Hinsdale).

For Best TV Newscast, second place went to the producing team for the March 9, 2017, Courier TV episode (click here to watch): Janese Lee (Villa Park), Karen Robinson (Downers Grove), Briscel Martinez (Carol Stream), Nick Petrillo (Brookfield), Elias, Hartini, Mathews, Jacques Mesias (Naperville), Paul Dipping (Palatine), Mario Fountain (Woodridge), Dearborn, Alex Pomerory (Naperville), Anna Pierczynski (Itasca), Shanon Ryan (Westmont) and Miceli.

For Best TV Spot, first place went to Jolly and Alex Leon (Woodridge) for “Sunset 5K Commercial” (click here to watch); second place went to Elias, Torres, Jolly, Troy Saylor (Warrenville) and Colin Parker (Aurora) for “COD Commercial” (click here to watch); and third place went to Dearborn, Petrillo and Elias for “Pokemon Go” (click here to watch).

For Best TV Photojournalism, first place went to Petrillo, Dearborn and Elias for “Courageous Cupcakes” (click here to watch), and second place went to Dearborn, Petrillo and Traverso for “iFly” (click here to watch).

Piehl said the students also paid tribute to Elias, who passed away after a six-year battle with cancer. Elias received five group awards, including first place for Best TV Photojournalism.

“Matt was a producer, director, editor, graphic artist and a creative genius behind Inside COD,” Piehl said. “He was a friend and mentor to everyone at Courier TV, and we dedicated the Oct. 7 episode to him.”

Courier TV, which made its debut in spring 2015, is the student-run on-campus television broadcast at COD that covers campus life while providing students with hands-on opportunities to learn about journalism and television production.

Click here to watch current and past episodes on YouTube, and click here to follow Courier TV Facebook.

For more information about Courier TV or the Motion Picture/Television program, visit, call (630) 942-2892 or email

College of DuPage

425 Fawell Blvd., Glen Ellyn IL, 60137

(630) 942-2800 (Main)

(630) 942-3000 (Student Services)

  2018 College of DuPage