2014 Carter D. Carroll Excellence in History Award Winners

By Robyn Johnson

Jessica Steslow (center) is the winner of the 2014 Carter Carroll Excellence in History Award for outstanding work in the field of history writing at College of DuPage. This recognition, which includes a $250 stipend to the winner, was created to encourage and reward high quality academic writing in the field of history.

Also pictured are Honorable Mention winners Tabi Dar (left) and Martin Hayford (right). Click here for more photos.       

Steslow, a student of Associate History Professor Sam Mitrani, earned first place for her paper "Limitations of Reason in the Enlightment."   

Dar and Hayford, also students of Mitrani, earned recognition for their papers "Dialectic of Sex" and "Fascism: What it is and How it Came to Be," respectively. An Honorable Mention also went to Stephanie Cioni, student of Assistant History Professor John Paris, for her paper "Victors and Vanquished: a Review."

Since its inception in 1994, the Carter D. Carroll Excellence in History Award honors students for excellent writing achievement in the field of history. Professor Carter D. Carroll was a "founding" faculty member at COD who taught History at the College for more than two decades. Instructors voluntarily nominate student papers they feel are of excellent quality and have been assigned "A" grades.

For more information, please contact Paris at (630) 942-2064 or parisj@cod.edu.