COD Celebrates Student Academic Excellence

Celebration of Academic Excellence

By Brian Kleemann

Brooke Cheser of Roselle is recognized as a Presidential Scholar during the recent “Celebration of Academic Excellence” recognizing the 2012-2013 Honors and Presidential Scholars.

Honors Program Director and History Professor Helen Feng congratulated the students for their achievements. “It’s a celebration of accomplishment, of perseverance and of true commitment to excellence both in and outside the classroom,” she said.

Click here for more photos from the event.

Honors Scholars
Members of the Honors Scholars are students who have successfully completed a minimum of 15 semester hours of Honors courses, including an Honors seminar or Humanities 2210 Leadership Development course. Students must have completed this requirement while maintaining a grade point average of at least 3.2/4.0 in order to receive Honors Scholars designations on their transcripts.

Honors Scholars: Jeanette Andrews, Josephine Awah-Kanneh, Rachel Benn, Adam Casario, Eunnice Deiparine, Henry Gordon, Holly Greenwell, Ian Haseltine, Sarah Hix, Jonathan Kaye, Christie Lacey, Holly Meany, Michael Reuland, Vladimir Rikhlyuk, Umair Shah, Megan Stewack, Doris Strom, Luka Trakselyte, Emily Vice and Jessica Young

Presidential Scholars
Students accepting the Presidential Scholars Award are required to pursue a degree or certificate; be enrolled in 15 credit hours per semester; complete a minimum of 15 semester hours of Honors courses, including an Honors seminar or Humanities 2210 Leadership Development course; and complete a designated Service Learning course or 20 hours of approved volunteer work within their first year of the scholarship. To receive the Presidential Scholars Designation on their transcripts, students completing these requirements maintained a cumulative GPA of at least 3.5/4.0 at COD.

Presidential Scholars: Nissa Anderson, Katheryn Beck, Jinane Chahine, Brooke Cheser, Courtney Clark, Noelle Fillo, Jared Gorski, Jonathan Hootman, Niki Loehle, Olivia Martin, David Prather, Maria Provancal, Rebecca Radavich, Alexis Reisch, Joseph Reuland, Sharanitha Sampath, Ryan Schmelter, Frederick Shopnitz, Jacob Slinkman, Cassandra Velazquez and Liliana Villa

Continuing Presidential, Board of Trustees, Deans and Chaparral Scholars

These students are new scholars during the 2012-2013 academic year. They are pursuing completion of award requirements while continuing their coursework for a degree or certificate at College of DuPage.

Continuing Presidential, Board of Trustees, Deans and Chaparral Scholars: Austin Ahlert, Virginia Anderson, Nicholas Bashqawi, Michael Baumgartner, Jeremy Bingen, James Blondin, Nikolett Bogdan, Kellie Brennan, Jack Breuer, Emma Buchholz, Nicholas Campagna, James Campion, Christopher Chapa, Cody Chapman, Amanda Aharicki, Christopher Collins, Samantha Dando, Hannah Dickson, Cassandra Fenwick, Saul Galvez, Tooba Ghafoor, Katie Glomp, James Gosciniak, Quinn Haack, Jonathan Harrison, Mike Heinz, Amy Herz, Jesse Hiltner, Marissa Hopgood, Donald Kelsey, Natalia Khalatyan, Max Kimmet, Melissa Klancic, Marija Kleivaite, Kristen Koch, Ashley Kresser, Maggie Kunze, Sara Liesman, Annika Lindgren, Justine Lorenc, Chelsea Madsen, James Maguire, Matthew Maynard, Susan Mazur, Timothy Mazur, Alexandra McGarel, Alexis McKay, Matthew Meifert, Claira Mittman, Zachary Murman-Freer, Rebecca Navratil, Alphecca May, Tanajura Octava, Christian O’Kelley, Vivek Partha, Alexander Pejic, Jonathon Perry, Jessica Ramirez, Dennis Raymundo, Stewart Reed, Nathan Reid, Ayesha Riaz, Vitaliy Rikhlyuk, Garrett Rowe, Thomas Rowland, Patricia Schwarts, Sarah Self, Joshua Shubert, Jeffrey Simon, Matthew Smith, Tyler Spears, Sarah Steger, Matthew Stewart, Elizabeth Strong, Zachary Thompson, Amanda Tumbarello, Thomas Van Kooten, Alec Watson, Brent Wilson, Caroline Wurster and Brenden Yung

Also recognized during the Celebration of Academic Excellence were Holly Greenwell of Glen Ellyn, who received a full scholarship to Elmhurst College, and Rebecca Radavich of Lemont, who received a full scholarship to North Central College.

For more information, visit or call (630) 942-3318.