Chaparral Career Advantage Workshops - Schedules

The following Chaparral Career Advantage workshops are free (unless otherwise noted) and open to all students, community and alumni. Please note advanced registration is highly recommended. Questions can be directed to Career Services at (630) 942-2230. Unless otherwise noted, all sessions are held in the Berg Instructional Center. A full list of workshops by date is also available for download.

 

"#BeResumeReady"

    • Thursday, Sept. 11 - 5 to 6 p.m. - BIC 3534 - Register
    • Wednesday, Oct. 8 - Noon to 1 p.m. - BIC 3524 - Register
    • Thursday, November 6 - 5 to 6 p.m. - BIC 3534 - Register

 

"Career Exploration (SDS)"

The following steps should be completed to register for this session. Please note assessment must be completed one week prior to session.

    • Register for one of the sessions listed below.
    • Contact Career Services at (630) 942-2230 or in SSC 3258
    • Career Services will issue a testing slip to each participant
    • Take the testing slip to the COD Specialisted Testing Center in BIC 2407 and complete the Self Directed Search prior to your scheduled workshop. The assessment should take approximately 30 minutes to complete and the cost is $5.
    • Test results and interpretation will be distributed at your scheduled workshop.

The following dates and times are available for registration:

    • Thursday, Oct. 2 - 6 to 7:30 p.m. - BIC 3528 - FULL
    • Wednesday, Oct. 22 - 6 to 7:30 p.m. - BIC 3528 - Register
    • Tuesday, November 18 - 6 to 7:30 p.m. - BIC 3532 - Register

 

"InstaBrand Your Career"

    • Tuesday, Nov. 4 - 2 to 3 p.m. - BIC 3532 - Register

 

"Internship Search Workshop"

    • Thursday, Sept. 11 - Noon to 1 p.m. - BIC 3534 - Register
    • Tuesday, Sept. 23 - 4 to 5 p.m. - BIC 3534 - Register
    • * Wednesday, Oct. 8 - Noon to 1 p.m. - Online - Register
    • Thursday, Oct. 23 - 1 to 2 p.m. - BIC 3534 - Register
    • * Tuesday, Nov. 4 - Noon to 1 p.m. - Online - Register
    • Wednesday, Nov. 12 - 4 to 5 p.m. - BIC 3532 - Register
    • Wednesday, Dec. 3 - Noon to 1 p.m. - BIC 2726 - Register
    • * Thursday, Dec. 11 - 11 a.m. to noon - Online - Register

 

"LinkedIn 101"

    • Thursday, Sept. 18 - 5 to 6 p.m. - BIC 3534 - Register
    • Wednesday, Oct. 29 -Noon to 1 p.m. - BIC 2726 - Register

 

"LinkedIn Advanced"

    • Thursday, Oct. 9 - 5 to 6 p.m. - BIC 3528 - Register
    • Tuesday, Dec 9 - Noon to 1 - SSC 1229 - Register

 

"Resume Drop-In"

Interested students, alumni or community members should drop-in for this session in the Career Services Center, Room 3258 during the following dates and times:

    • Thursday, August 28 - 11 a.m. to 1 p.m.
    • Wednesday, September. 24 - 1 to 3 p.m.
    • Tuesday, October. 14 - 11 a.m. to 1 p.m.
    • Tuesday, November 11 - 10 a.m. to Noon
    • Tuesday, December 2 - 1 to 3 p.m.
    • Wednesday, December 17 - 11 a.m. to 1 p.m.

 

"Robots Read My Resume?? Seriously?"

    • Wednesday, Nov. 12 - 5 to 6 p.m. - BIC 3534 - Register

 

"Salary Negotiation"

    • Tuesday, Sept. 30 - 5 to 6 p.m. - BIC 3534 - Register

 

"Successful Interviewing Strategies"

    • Tuesday, Sept. 16 - 5 to 6 p.m. - BIC 3534 - Register
    • Thursday, October 23 - Noon to 1 p.m. - BIC 3534 - Register
    • Thursday, Dec. 11 - 5 to 6 p.m. - SSC 1229 - Register

 

"Workforce Insight for Individuals With Disabilities"

    • Thursday, Nov. 20 - 5 to 6 p.m. - BIC 3534 - Register

 

 * Online Workshops

To login to a scheduled online session, please complete the following steps:

The session launches in your browser. If the presenter hasn't arrived yet, double check the start time and try later. Presenters usually join 10 to 15 minutes prior to the session. Please note you will only be able to communicate with the presenter via chat.

 

Contact Information


Career Services
Student Services Center (SSC) Room 3258
(630) 942-2230
FAX (630) 858-9394

Hours:
Monday to Thursday, 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. 

Friday, 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.